Uncategorized

Luck of the Irish

I felt like I had found the elusive four-leaf clover. I was lucky to finally, after all the years of dreaming, be on my way to Ireland, a place I had wanted to visit for so long, but like my love of writing I can’t quite pinpoint how it all began.
Perhaps it began with my love of The Cranberries, my favourite band since I was twelve, from the first time I heard the mixed tape of songs an Irish boy on our school bus had made for my sister.
Then I received two of their albums on cassette as get-well gifts when I was in hospital. The haunting voice of Dolores spoke to me in a way I did not quite understand. The accents were beautiful to listen to. Or perhaps I wanted to see the home of Helen Keller’s beloved teacher Anne Sullivan. Something about the culture, the history, and the people has intrigued me and called to me from somewhere deep inside or far far away. I can’t really say for certain.
It was settled when my old friend was accepted to medical school at the historic and prestigious Trinity College in Dublin. She and I had both wanted to see Ireland and we used to dream of going there one day together to explore it. Now she was going first and I promised myself I’d make it over too.
People don’t look at me an automatically see someone who is spontaneous. I like to think things out and weigh all possible options, but as I spoke to my friend a few short weeks before she was to go back there for her final year of med school, that all changed. She mentioned in passing how her and a friend of hers were going back a few weeks early, to tour around the country, At this, I jumped at my chance to join them. How many times did an opportunity like this present itself to me? The answer was almost never. I had less than two weeks to get my ticket and pack. That was plenty. It was the biggest rush of my life thus far.
On this day when Ireland and its traditions are celebrated with gusto by so many, I couldn’t resist the urge to write about this place, with which I have a strange connection I can’t exactly figure out. I feel I was meant for it and it was meant for me in another life, meant to live in that is. If it weren’t for my need to be close to my family, I would have gone there that summer and maybe never returned.
Before I started this blog I feared I might not be able to come up with enough things to write about once I got going. Perhaps that will indeed become a problem in the months or years to come, but at this early stage of the process I can barely type fast enough to keep up with the ideas my brain is coming up with. I had to start here, on this Saint Patrick’s Day. I hope to continue my Ireland tale on a new post I like to call Travel Tuesdays. It may not be a weekly thing, as the days each week on my blog are filling up fast, but I have been lucky enough to have traveled and seen enough places in my first thirty years to write for the foreseeable future.
We had a great time, for me the trip of a lifetime and I kick myself now for not having been able to write down the things I did and the places I saw as I experienced them. It was impossible to both experience Ireland and have the time and energy to write about it as it happened. It’s like when I want to just read a novel and take it all in, but I must make notes and analyze the story as I’m reading, something being taken away from my ability to absorb everything and just rely on my memories and my mind to recall what’s important at a later date. This can be a risky thing to do and some things are lost, but it’s how it had to be.
The thing I most love and admire about my friend, now a doctor, is her free spirit and her ability to take the risks and chances the rest of us only dream of. She allowed me to have my dream in some small way and I will forever be in her debt and think back fondly on those late August days, of which still feel like a dream to me.
I don’t need to swig green beer on March 17th every year to celebrate. I carry a little piece of Ireland around with me every day, now that I can say I was there. Sometimes dreams do come true.
When you think of Ireland, on Saint Patrick’s Day or any other, what do you think of? What comes to mind?
I highly recommend all of you visit Ireland at least once in your lives and stay tuned, in future weeks, for the rest of my Irish tale. after all, I went there with my free-spirited friend and anyone who knows her knows anything could happen. Oh the adventures we could and would have.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Luck of the Irish

  1. Congratulations on beginning your blog adventure, which you announced on Kathy Pooler’s blog today. I like your theme of Travel Tuesdays, giving you links on a chain you can continue each week. We loved the Emerald Isle and visited it about 10 years ago. Happy blogging!

  2. One of the best trips I’ve ever taken was to Ireland. I traveled by myself for 10 days and had a blast—I rented a car and just started driving. The people were wonderful, the sights breathtaking, and I’ve never seen so many shades of green in my life. Thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories!

  3. Hi Kerry; thanks for reaching out to me on the vip list. I enjoyed your post and appreciate your sharing the background behind your desire to visit ireland. as an amusement equipment broker i have contacts all over the world and hope to start traveling to meet more of them in person soon. would love for you to share some of the nuts and bolts of how you got there how you paid for the trip etc. thanks again and take care, Max

  4. Pingback: I Left a Piece of My Heart Back There in County Kerry, #TBT #LoIsInDaBl | Her Headache

  5. Pingback: TToT: Where Rugged Coasts and Grassy Hills Collide – Don’t Look Back, #10Thankful | Her Headache

Leave a Reply

