Kerry's Causes, Poetry, Special Occasions

World Oceans Day, 2014

From coast to coast, I would travel
from frozen Arctic to tropical southern waters,
Coves, bays, reefs
Others would love and respect all of this like I do:
Its awesome power and humbling fragility
None of us can tame it
While all of us must treat it with care.
Moonlit flat surface, which storms soon chern up with mighty winds.
Down below, the sun shines through, only to a point
Blackness thereafter envelops all things in darkness.
I would make friends with the dolphins and study their behaviours.
Wanting only to make life better for them.
As blind as we all up on land are
This planet’s waters becoming our garbage dumps
Will come back to bite us all.
I would vow to devote my life to the sea
From the depths of my soul to the depths of the deepest ocean trenches.
On this day I honour you and all you’ve brought to my life.
Thank you for your inspiration and the peace you bring me.
Instead of studying you as a scientist would,
I use my ability to write about you,
To hopefully do some good.

***

Another place, another time,
Where fear of the water, science, and vision loss weren’t impediments of mine.

Your force, the currents and the tides.
Wash in and out, back and forth…oh the secrets you hide.

the vast openness, no land to be seen for miles upon miles.
shoreline run jagged and barren a long while.

Wailing gulls, I heed your cries.
Looking from where the water stops, the horizon meets the skies.

I would write only about the oceans, drawing on so much beauty within.
A soothing hush as the waves roll in.

And out again they go.
I both am drawn to you and fear you, pulled down by your undertow.

So whether another lifetime or a dream I’ve had before:
You and I will forever stay connected,
As I stand at your shores.

What mysteries await us, down deep on your sea floor.
If I were meant to study Marine Biology,
Oh how I would long to explore.

Standard

Leave a Reply

