Kerry's Causes, Memoir Monday, National Novel Writing Month, Writing

Day 23 of Migraine and Headache Awareness Month, Blogger Challenge: Dreams Dashed and Dreams Reborn

Dreams are extremely important. Everyone should have them and as long as they are alive, in someone, there is hope. John Lennon spoke of dreams and of imagining. Words like his, and his song lyrics help us find a voice within ourselves. A voice to share our own dreams, no matter what we may be facing in life; they help us reach out for what we deserve.

I had many dreams as a child and growing up. I thought I would attend university and become something, able to contribute to the world. My blindness never got in the way of that or stopped me from doing what I wanted. It wasn’t until the headaches set in that I began to question whether my dreams would ever come true.

It was a dark cloud or a shadow, rolling into my life and covering my world with despair. In my darkest moments of pain and fear I thought I could never find the light of my dreams again.

During this month of awareness and all year long I believe it is important to let the world know that pain is debilitating, but it doesn’t have to define the sufferers’ life.

My dream of being someone in life was dashed during the dark times and I felt all alone.

Since then I have come out on the other side. I have taken up a dream of mine and am working on writing my first novel. I have a blog to speak up for myself through my words. I still have pain in my life, but I am firm in my dreams of becoming a person who uses writing to make a difference in the world. This dream is alive and well and is being achieved as best I can. I will never give up on my dream and I wish the same for all others.

Standard

Leave a Reply

