Kerry's Causes, Memoir and Reflections

Giving Tuesday 2014: All the Hope I’ll Ever Need

RESOLVE to Give Hope

It’s a bit funny to me that this, 2014, Thanksgiving and Giving Tuesday are bookends to Black Friday and Cyber Monday. The days for giving thanks and giving back kick off and end off a frenzy of mad shopping and heavy consumerism.

I guess a balance is needed, but I spent my Saturday feeling thankful for the blessings in my own life.

I felt a sense of discomfort and anxiety all day Friday and I didn’t even participate in the madness. I did not wish to be trampled, thank you very much, either here in Canada or across the border in the US.

Okay, so it probably wasn’t that bad, but oh wait…maybe it was.

Today is Giving Tuesday and the array of options on this day can be just as overwhelming as the options to be found in any store.

I see many charities that I feel could use the donation and I would vouch for them all: Infertility Awareness Association of Canada/RESOLVE to give hope for people with infertility, Ronald McDonald House Children’s Charities, Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals, suicide awareness and prevention, and countless literary journals and online publications promoting literacy.

I wish I could donate to them all.

I simply can not give to all these, but I can share my message of hope.

So back to Saturday…

A subject as touchy as infertility, in my family is not always an easy one, but we do not shy away from it. My family have faced it head-on and we have the miracle to show for it.

I spent my Saturday, in between the thankfulness, the shopping, and the giving, with my family. We ate, drank, and played with the children.

This was all capped off with an evening of classic Christmas movies.

RESOLVE to Give Hope

I don’t know if I will ever have any children of my own. This realization hits me, often on a daily basis, and I struggle to put those thoughts in their proper perspective.

If I never do, will I be okay with that?

Will I feel like I have lived a fulfilling life without?

How do I continue to handle the feelings of envy and resentment toward anyone who announces a pregnancy or who gives birth, while I continue to watch from the sidelines?

As I sat there with my niece and my nephews, I pondered these very questions.

My one-year-old nephew: so innocent, sleeping peacefully, nearby on the sofa.

My two-year-old nephew: sitting in my lap, happily singing along, moving his limbs frantically to the music.

FIVE LITTLE MONKEYS JUMPING ON THE BED!!!

And my soon-to-be-four-year-old niece: playfully spinning me, around and around, in the office chair I sat in.

I was surrounded by hope, all the hope I will ever need.

Here is a list of the organizations I spoke of above and of which mean something to me (#GivingTuesday):

http://www.iaac.ca/en/giving-tuesday-3

http://www.resolve.org/get-involved/be-part-of-givingtuesday.html

http://www.csmonitor.com/Books/chapter-and-verse/2014/1121/Penguin-Random-House-launches-GiveaBook-campaign

https://www.rmhccanada.ca/emails/rmhc-celebrates-givingtuesday-on-december-2nd/

http://blog.childrensmiraclenetworkhospitals.org/2012/11/give-miracles-on-givingtuesday.html

http://suicideprevention.ca

http://www.covenanthousetoronto.ca/homeless-youth/Home.aspx

Standard

Leave a Reply

