Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, SoCS, Writing

I Say I Say, #SoCS

I was away last week, but am back at it because the blogger who holds this weekly prompt and I just had a lovely comment conversation a few weeks back. It was about our common Canadian similarities.

STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY

I say, I say…essay.

***

I love writing. I hate writing.

I love writing. I hate writing.

Love it. Hate it.

I love writing what I want to write. I dread writing what I am told to write.

I received a 97 in 9th grade English and a 73 or so in 11th.

Did I really suck so much more in two years time alone? Or, was the work just harder? I was not feeling well, but I had to write essays and I hated all the rules.

An essay MUST be written with a very specific format. I get it. It’s necessary.

It must be written in the proper font, line spacing, indentation and so on. It must be written along a set of guidelines. Introduction…topic sentence…thesis…up to three body paragraphs…points must be made…a conclusion to restate and sum up.

I love thinking up catchy opening lines for a piece of writing, the hook they called it. I want to grab the reader’s attention. It is a greatly underestimated feeling of power.

🙂

I like personal essay writing. I like to write an essay the way I see fit, but unfortunately teachers don’t grade you overly well, in many cases, with that attitude. Yeah, when it comes to what I think an essay should be, I have a bad attitude.

I write blog posts and essays a lot. I do. Whatever you want to call it.

For years, since I discovered my obsession with the Harry Potter books, I have had an urge to write an essay again.

There’s the geek in me.

I think I want it to be done properly, maybe even with a teacher’s marking scheme. I want it to be something of beauty. Yes, an essay is a beautiful thing, can be.

I want to write about the theme of death which runs throughout all seven books and the many ways in which J. K. Rowling showcases what death represents.

I am scared. I am trying really hard to overcome my fears, but the biggest one of all is involving the good old literary/persuasive essay.

It isn’t as if I don’t have anything to say. I have a lot to say actually. I wish school weren’t a good place for that, but it is. I keep coming back to that “conclusion” and I then turn right around and run the other way again.

I don’t know if I have what it takes to write those essays, the way they want them written. No more writing, finding the pleasure I do in my control over the words and the form they come in. I would be under that pressure I am so terrified of.

I love an essay, contrary to most of what I’ve said here. I think it is something which must be built, layer upon layer, moulded and sculpted into a thing of beauty, a perfect piece of art.

Essay is art.

***

Linda’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/08/14/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-august-1515/

So I hear the badge is new. Wish I could have entered or even voted, but I am not even able to see what it looks like. Sounded like fun though.

Standard

3 thoughts on “I Say I Say, #SoCS

  1. I’m a closet Harry Potter fan. Well, it’s not really a secret actually. I avoided it for the longest time just because it was SOOOooo trendy. Then I finally got around to seeing the first movie (the only one I never saw in the theater,) and thought…Hey this is actually pretty cool. After that I started seeing the movies in the theater as they were released, and I read all the first six books in the week before the seventh was released. (then of course acquired, and read, the last book.)

  2. I know just what you mean about having to write something as opposed to writing because you want to. There’s such a vast difference!
    Our new badge has pretty white flowers with one pink one and a blue butterfly. It’s really quite nice!
    So glad you came back this week my dear! 😀

Leave a Reply

