Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, IN THE NEWS AND ON MY MIND, Kerry's Causes, TGIF

Let’s Talk… About Gun Control

This is beautiful and heartfelt. More important dialogue going on.

Laurie Works

dialogueguncontrol

For the last couple of weeks since I wrote my letter to Congress, I’ve been trying to foster dialogue with the people of the Internet and the people of my city (hello, Colorado Springs!).

This has not been easy.

A lot of the replies that I’ve received via my blog or Twitter account have been painful. Painful is a strange word to use, but that is what comes up when I transcend the flash of anger that appears when I first hear certain things: pain.

When people ask me, “What do you think about the armed citizen that stopped the shooter in your shooting?” As if I didn’t realize she was a part of my story.
When people assert that people are the problems, not guns. As if it were not bullets that killed my sisters.
When people say that laws don’t dissuade criminals. As if they don’t set…

View original post 1,324 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

