Blogging, Fiction Friday, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Memoir and Reflections, TGIF, Writing

Just Jot It January: Hip Replacements, Scouts, and Thieves #JusJoJan

It’s the end of the first full week of 2016 and week one of Just Jot It January has come to a close.

I have never felt robust. Looks like I’ve missed the boat again, yesterday.

I missed it because of just how not robust I’ve felt. I read how hip/knee replacements have worked wonders in reducing pain of several people, but these people are mostly sixty and older. I am under forty. I joke about needing one, but at times like this it feels as if it couldn’t be any less of a joke.

I always think that if I were in a fire-in-a-crowded-theatre type situation, I would be trampled to death, unable to keep up with a fast moving herd of terrified people.

If I were in some desperate sort of war, life and/or death scenario, I would not survive.

I am not robust. I could hardly handle a short walk the other night and again the next morning without depositing myself on the doorstep of a surgeon who could give me a new hip right then and there.

I am writing, jotting really, as much as I possibly can this first month of 2016 and that’s because I thought it would be the best way to find my rhythm for the new year, while trying to decide if I wanted to continue to submit my writing for publications of all kinds for the months ahead.

Now I am faced with writing about honour, while feeling less robust than ever, and I don’t have anything whatsoever to say on the subject of being honourable.

Survival of the fittest.

Honour among thieves.

Is that all I’ve got, just a couple cliches related to these last two days of this January blogging challenge?

Well, it is the middle of the night and I am wishing I’d procured that hip for myself. Maybe my mind isn’t all that clear.

Oh wait…I just thought of another one: Scout’s honour.

Not sure that refers to the Scout I’m thinking of, but Harper Lee did write a lot about honour and what it means to be considered honourable in her stories of Atticus Finch, his children, and his community.

I read and wrote a lot about that when Go Set A Watchman was released, a highlight of my 2015.

Now it’s a new year and what it means to be honourable hasn’t changed much in fifty or sixty years. I don’t think it ever will. There are just some truths that are timeless.

Linda writes about honour, ethics, and puppies:

http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/08/just-jot-it-january-8th-honorable/

Just Jot It January, #JusJoJan

Rules are simple really.

&

Today’s JusJoJan is brought to you by Corner of Confessions.

Standard

15 thoughts on “Just Jot It January: Hip Replacements, Scouts, and Thieves #JusJoJan

  1. Funny, it was my prompt idea and I was struggling on what to write also. But, I read this and said instantly you are an honorable person. Why? Because you struggle daily with pains but yet you channeled that and wrote this, with hurt and humor creating a beautiful sharing of your life and struggle. Don’t give up on your publishing dreams. I’ll buy your book.

  2. I’m with Tasha. Among all the people I know, you’re one of the most honest with yourself. That in itself is honourable. 🙂
    P.S. You don’t have to follow the prompts!

  3. amybovai says:

    Hi Kerry,
    Honor. You’ve shown a lot of honor when it comes to bringing your brother’s plight to the attention of others, when it came to helping him.
    I think you and your brother have an incredible story together. Your relationship. The struggles you have both faced together, how going through similar struggles have made both of you closer and stronger. I think you have great content for a book in your dual tale.
    Amy

  4. Good post! Suffering from prior surgeries as well most days I don’t feel robust either! Just trying to keep it positive and live in the moment ya know redefining who I am….good luck!

  5. Suzanne says:

    I like the alternative to survival of the fittest – survival of the most adaptable. I think we will find that being adaptable will take us a long way in 2016 regardless of whether we are physically robust or not.

Leave a Reply

