Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Memoir and Reflections, RIP

Just Jot It January: Skeletons, Headaches, and Mountains #JusJoJan

I wrote using the word “skull” in my previous JJIJ, but I really owe it a lot.

I used to press my fingers against my cheek, under my eye socket, and along the bone of my upper nose. I would press my fingertips against my temples to create the kind of pressure, almost my own brand of acupressure, when the headaches were particularly bad.

I imagined those skeletons at Halloween, that under all the coverings of skin and muscle, there was something basic and strong.

My skull, my scalp, where the pain seemed worst. I wondered where all the pain came from.

Recently I imagined it again, holding the brain inside. I was so grateful for it, for the skull itself, the structure that was keeping safe a very important brain, one that was uniquely belonging to a one-of-a-kind personality. If it hadn’t been for it, a fall would have spelled disaster. It saved all the intelligence and all the character that made up my one-and-only younger brother.

Then I read this prompt and thought of the sound all those fake skulls made when they fell down on the three brave characters, in that scene from Lord of the Rings, Return of the King, as they went to find the King of the Ghost Army in his forbidding, forbidden mountain tomb home. It was a mountain of skulls raining down upon them.

Music is on all our minds.

Under Pressure

Linda’s inspirations range from Japanese artist to British rock legend:

Just Jot It January 12th – Skulls

Just Jot It January, #JusJoJan

The rules are

RIGHT HERE.

The “skulls” prompt is brought to us by the brain of an artist named Dean, over at

Deanz Doodlez.

Check him out over there.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Just Jot It January: Skeletons, Headaches, and Mountains #JusJoJan

  1. Most of the time you don’t go around thinking of your own skull, or bones, but without them, I guess we’d just be a jellyfish or something? I like trying acupressure, especially around the eyes and nose. It helps with the sinuses, and headaches too. There are specific points on the hands and feet, too that if massaged, will help with all different ailments.

Leave a Reply

