Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights

Just Jot It January: Kittens, Kindergarten, and Avoiding Frost Bite, #JusJoJan

Just Jot It January, #JusJoJan

Ah, a good old Canadian winter requires

mittens

if you want to avoid frost bitten fingers.

snowydeck-2016-01-21-00-33.jpg

I guess gloves and mittens are two different things, right? I get them mixed up, in my head, all the time.

The other day my nephew’s one mitten kept falling off and I, being the loving Auntie Kerry that I am, was the one to happily put it back on his hand. It worked out without much fuss, as he’s a pro now at it, but I can’t imagine how many little gloves and mittens fall off in a typical day of junior or senior kindergarten. Wow.

🙂

There’s some poem or song about kittens and their mittens, but I am not in much of a poem mood today.

I just know those strings that attach mittens to a baby’s coat are the best idea ever. A lot of mitten mishaps are avoided everyday thanks to those simple strings.

I want to go sledding, just like when I was a kid. You need some form of winter hand covering, just in case you land right in a snow bank.

I want to wear them, mittens, gloves, whatever they’re called. It’s winter and I want to go skating. I started last winter and haven’t gone yet this one. You definitely need to cover your hands while skating, but I also don’t like less sensory access, when my hands are covered. My sense of touch is very important to me and mittens dull that a lot. Thankfully, they are a tool to keeping cold ice and snow one thick layer of wool or other material away.

For the rules to this month’s Just Jot It January,

CLICK HERE.

She’s the host blog for today, in the home stretch for #JusJoJan:

Rhymes With Bug

This girl sure loves bugs.

Bugs have their place, but the thing I do love about living here in Canada is that, while freezing cold right now, the bugs are hiding out. Bugs and I could definitely use a break from one another for at least a part of the year.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Just Jot It January: Kittens, Kindergarten, and Avoiding Frost Bite, #JusJoJan

  1. I enjoyed your post about mittens and gloves. Happy skating! You definitely have lots of snow. I imagine frozen ponds or skating rinks too.

    Just for you–The Three Little Kittens have lost their mittens and they began to cry…Now you’ll hum that all day. 😉

Leave a Reply

