Blogging, Bucket List, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Memoir and Reflections, The Insightful Wanderer, Throw-back Thursday, Travel

Hotel Nostalgia At The Falls, #TBT #LoIsInDaBl

NIAGARA FALLS AT NIGHT

Just take a listen to that roar!

familyatfalls-2016-02-11-11-52.jpg

I live only a few hours from

Visit Niagara

and I love it. I could write and write and write about why I love it so.

<SANY0533.JPG>

I went to Niagara Falls, Canada, all the time when I was growing up, with family and friends.

I’ve been there on a rainy day in the green of spring, on a blisteringly hot day of summer, during a crisp and beautiful weekend during autumn, and the blustery cold of winter too. In any season in Canada I would happily return to where my heart lies.

It has been called the Honeymoon Capital. I spent a Valentine’s weekend of my own, there in February that had its own memorable charm.

I’ve ticked off items from my bucket list more than once and I plan to tick off many more yet still.

Feel the Vibrations – Touching Landscapes

Some complain of how commercial and touristy its become, but I don’t let that bother me. Of course it is a wonder to behold and people from all around the world flock to see it. I can’t and don’t blame them for that.

Just in my last visit there I met visitors from China and Zimbabwe alone, but the countries represented standing at that railing are numerous and varied.

I am one awfully proud Canadian who, once I place my hand on that rail and my feet on the rock ledge overlooking Niagara, I never want to leave.

Niagara on the Lake – if you love wine, you will love the atmosphere of peace and tranquility in that town.

I recommend a nighttime ride on the big ferris wheel that gives you the best views of the lights on Niagara Falls waters.

Niagara Sky Wheel

There is no place like it in the world. Go and go soon. Not to be missed.

As much as I am obsessed with travel, have places like Ireland where I’ve been and love or Hawaii where I love to dream of visiting, Niagara Falls will always be my spot. I can honestly say I “LOVE” Niagara Falls and always will.

http://www.theweathernetwork.com/news/articles/us-officials-plan-to-temporarily-turn-off-niagara-falls/62781

For this week –

https://justfoolingaroundwithbee.wordpress.com/2016/02/10/loisindabl-for-11feb16-buildings-we-love/

– I couldn’t think of any building I love more than this place that could never be contained inside walls, but in Niagara Falls there is one building I love so very much.

http://cairncroft.com/

It’s not the fanciest hotel in Niagara Falls or anywhere else for that matter. It’s not the most luxurious of accommodations for a vacation, but it’s where I am at my happiest.

It should be called Hotel Nostalgia. It has a grouping of rooms, two levels of them, all facing out into a tropical indoor courtyard. There is soft music playing all the time. The pool is warm and the sky lights let in all kinds of light from above and outside.

kidsplayingonthestairs-2016-02-11-11-52.jpg

This was the newest generation of my family, making memories of this very special place.

bestbuddiesatthepool-2016-02-11-11-52.jpg

I was so excited to get to take my niece and nephews there. My whole family spent the weekend there together, and something I thought was gone forever, we all got to enjoy together one more time.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Hotel Nostalgia At The Falls, #TBT #LoIsInDaBl

  1. I grew up about 4 hours away from Niagara Falls, and I’ve been several times. I could just stand and watch/listen/feel the falls all day long. The last time we went was almost 7 years ago. I am one of the people who is sorely disappointed with the commercial crap that has built up around it. When I was a kid and teen, it was all about the falls and the beauty of the entire area. Now, not so much. The Ripley’s and the wax museum type touristy stuff is bad enough, but when I saw that a person has to pay big bucks just to walk along the river on boardwalk…irritated isn’t a strong enough word.

    • I haven’t done that, but parking around the area can add up. I like the shuttle bus that goes back and forth now. Hop on and hop off. Very convenient because I get worn out from so much walking.

Leave a Reply

