Blogging, Book Reviews, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights

Teaser Tuesday: The Icing on the Cake, #LoIsInDaBl

For this week’s

TEASER TUESDAY

I present to you, just days after Valentine’s Day, one of the sweetest, most romantic scenes I’ve ever read in literature:

***

Ginny looked up into Harry’s face, took a deep breath, and said, “Happy seventeenth.”

“Yeah … thanks.”

She was looking at him steadily; he however, found it difficult to look back at her; it was like gazing into a brilliant light.

“Nice view,” he said feebly, pointing toward the window.

She ignored this. He could not blame her.

“I couldn’t think what to get you,” she said.

“You didn’t have to get me anything.”

She disregarded this too.

“I didn’t know what would be useful. Nothing too big, because you wouldn’t be able to take it with you.”

He chanced a glance at her. She was not tearful; that was one of the many wonderful things about Ginny, she was rarely weepy. He had sometimes thought that having six brothers must have toughened her up.

She took a step closer to him.

“So then I thought, I’d like you to have something to remember me by, you know, if you meet some veela when you’re off doing whatever you’re doing.”

“I think dating opportunities are going to be pretty thin on the ground, to be honest.”

“There’s the silver lining I’ve been looking for,” shoe whispered, and then she was kissing him as she had never kissed him before, and Harry was kissing her back, and it was blissful oblivion, better than firewhisky; she was the only real thing in the world, Ginny, the feel of her, one hand at her back and one in her long, sweet-smelling hair–

The door banged open behind them and they jumped apart.

***

Was that more than a teaser?

I just love that scene, but one writing instructor I once had did not quite agree on it being one of the most romantic in all of literature.

🙂

I don’t know what page that would be in the print version, but in braille it comes from the final book in the Harry Potter series, (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Volume Two, Page 169).

It may have something to do with the moment I read it for the first time, the place I might have been in my life back then.

I was always looking, at the heart of it, for the love story in a novel. When I read Lord of the Rings for the first time, after watching the movies, I couldn’t wait and I asked a friend who loved the books if there was more of a particular romance between Sam and Rosie.

Of course, Lord of the Rings has its romantic themes, but it is an adventure fantasy story overall. Let’s just say, this male friend thought me a little nuts for only wanting this one small storyline when there was so much else going on in that world.

Well, Harry Potter is definitely not a romance novel and I am no longer a teenager, that girl who that’s all I read. I learned to love the fantasy and epic adventure genre for what it is and I love Harry Potter for so many of its themes, but this was just the icing on the already amazing cake.

Standard

One thought on “Teaser Tuesday: The Icing on the Cake, #LoIsInDaBl

  1. I wasn’t a great fan of Harry Potter in the beginning. But I wanted to learn more English it Harry was the only book in English in the library so I got it and read on. I think J.K. Rowling grew as a writer with every Harry Potter she wrote. And that scene is just so cute :-). Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

