Uncategorized

Be A Donor

#TBT
Until I resolve this dying laptop problem and I can truly blog/write again.

Her Headache

https://beadonor.ca

Just the other day I saw a news story about the province of Nova Scotia considering making organ donation upon death the norm unless a person specifically chooses to opt out. Canada is nowhere near the top of the list of countries with the highest organ donor rates in the world. Spain is on top and the US is ahead as well.

Should opting in for organ donation be automatic?

I know this is a complicated issue and I am sensitive to it, on both sides. I don’t have the easy answers here. I wish I did. Some say that proposed suggestion is a civil rights infringement. I can see where they are coming from, of course I can.

April is Organ and Tissue Donation Month and this past week was National Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness Week
If you’re having a hard time keeping that all straight, you’re…

View original post 661 more words

Standard

3 thoughts on “Be A Donor

  1. Good for Nova Scotia. The UK either has or i on the point of adopting the same stance.People don’t have to donate if hey don’t want to, but now they must physically register that choice. Why not? In the past the onus has always been on those willing to donate to carry a donor card, which can easily be left at home, or register with an organisation that has to search for you when the time comes.
    I’d like to see it go a step further and have a National Blood Type register so that in the case of an accident a quick search tells people what type you are if you should need blood or if someone needs blood a search can be done to see who is compatible and they can be contacted and asked to donate. Some people have no idea what type they are and perhaps how many lives could be saved with a donation from them.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. I am a corneal transplant recipient and an advocate for organ and tissue donation. The sad thing is there are so many misconceptions about organ donation and many people don’t seem to be interested in finding out the statistics and facts. I think we need more education (maybe a course in school) about it, but my personal opinion is that the law should remain the same. A person has a right to decide if they want to be a donor or not. I don’t think it should be automatic.

Leave a Reply

