1000 Voices Speak For Compassion, IN THE NEWS AND ON MY MIND, Kerry's Causes, SoCS

Captivity, #SoCS

My cat Lumos is, I’ve decided, an indoor cat. He may wonder what he’s missing sometimes. He gets excited, when he hears things going on outside, so I try to leave the window open when I can. It’s just easier having him strictly inside, for me, it’s just easier when I can’t see him and what he might get up to. But then I wonder if I’m being fair to him. I wonder if he understands what he might be missing. It’s like when anyone is forbidden from doing something entirely. That only serves to make you want to do it all the more. I mean, he has a fairly comfortable life here, but is my decision for him fair to him? Is he like a poor animal in a zoo, looking out on the world, but forbidden to experience it?

First the chimp escaped from a zoo in Japan, I believe it was, only to be re-captured soon after, up on a hydro wire. Then an octopus got somehow out of its tank, at some aquarium down there in New Zealand, and then managed to crawl across a floor and squeeze itself through a tight pipe, only to make it out to the ocean. And finally, a woman zoo keeper was killed by a tiger. Are the animals trying to tell us something?

Not to mention, the real zoo right now is the US, during their latest election cycle. We lock our poor animal species behind fences and we’re the ones acting like animals. There’s definitely something wrong with this picture.

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS April 30/16

Standard

4 thoughts on “Captivity, #SoCS

  1. A lot of indoor cats are afraid to go outside. Ours is – he has plenty of opportunity when the dog goes out. He just doesn’t. Your kittie is probably the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

