Bucket List, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Special Occasions, TravelWriting, TToT

TToT: Vermilion Hearts and Lucky Clovers – May Day! May Day! #10Thankful

I learned a new word this week. Want to know what it was?

OPSIMATH

Are you one? Am I?

Is she one?

Immediately, upon seeing the letters “math” made me think it had something to do with mathematics. I had already discounted myself.

As it turns out, the word actually has nothing whatsoever to do with my favourite numerical subject.

Read on…

Opsimath, noun: One who learns late in life.

TEN THINGS OF THANKFUL

For the chance to learn a new word every once and a while.

In this particular instance, thank you goes to Stephen Fry for the latest.

And to one of his literary heros: Oscar Wilde of course.

That is where I learned the word “Vermilion”, which I originally thought meant something having to do with vermin, but glad it actually means a shade of my favourite colour: red.

For “April Showers” which round out the month, giving way to the promise of “May Flowers”.

I was told of a new one, a wild flower called a “May Apple” and I love the name.

I’d include a photo, if this dying old laptop would allow it.

For the perfect weather.

At this time of year, I can step out my door and the air carries the scent and the freshness of multiple seasons.

I can be out without shoes on and not freeze, but yet the breeze still hasn’t become humid with summer. There’s still the faintest glimpse of crisper fall memory, winter frostiness.

All seasons combine into one perfect feeling on the air.

That I met the “Ten Things” group, almost exactly one year ago.

For a retelling or a continuation of one of the most beloved stories by one of them.

ALMIRA STORY

I’m really loving this one.

For the opportunity to be a member of a special group.

They are a gathering of talented writers and I am lucky to count myself as one of them.

In this place there are fascinating literary travel writing discussions.

Interesting topics come up and I’m getting the chance to learn so much from so many varied perspectives.

That the celebration of a very special one-year-old’s birthday was enjoyed this week.

I was the lucky one to get to be there for the first several months of her life.

I was sorry to have to miss the chance to actually celebrate with her and her mother. I spoke to my friend, who now lives on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean. It’s a rough time, lately, partly because I miss them both so much, but I am grateful for everything that precious little girl has brought into the lives of all who love her.

For my first “Wilde”, as this week I read my first Oscar Wilde novel.

The man sure could weave an odd tale. I would say that “The Picture of Dorian Gray” was not at all what I was expecting when I started it, but I’m glad I read it.

That April is over.

The month had its good points, but it wasn’t an easy month overall.

This is a hard time of year for me, for several reasons, and there’s really no guarantee May and beyond will turn out any easier, but I have a lot to look ahead to.

That although this laptop has pretty much had it, as I discovered officially earlier in the week, that at least, while I figure out my next move, I have more time for violin practice and reading all those books (Wilde and otherwise) that I put off for my writing and blogging.

🙂

All about those silver linings, am I right?

Which rounds out my thankfuls this week.

None of these guys could be called “opsimath”.

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.”

–Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

Standard

13 thoughts on “TToT: Vermilion Hearts and Lucky Clovers – May Day! May Day! #10Thankful

  1. Kristi says:

    Does “opsimath” imply ONLY learning later in life, or can a life-long learner be an opsimath, too? I hope to be a life-long learner. 🙂

  2. I second Kristi’s question! There are several folks in the TToT group that I consider life-long learners. Well, most of them actually. You included!
    Spring really is the best season. I like the way you explain it, as the air carrying the scent and freshness of multiple seasons.

    • It was a really good question, wasn’t it?
      I totally agree with you. I love to hear about all the things everybody is interested in and learning when I read all the TToT posts each week.

  3. valj2750 says:

    Opsimath is a very interesting word. I think we are all learners late in life as long as we keep wanting to learn. No math for me either, Kerry. It’s funny how words we don’t know trigger a thought in our minds that could be totally off like vermillion and foment. (I always thought it was related to ferment). I Googled May Apple flowers and they are interesting specimens also known as Mandrakes. I bet they are used to cure the winter blues. Have a good week, Kerry.

  4. Bee Halton says:

    I love Oscar Wilde. I actually got introduced to Stephen Fry playing Oscar Wild in a TV Drama many years ago. And I love Oscar Wildes Tales. Do you know The Happy Prince and other stories? If you like his writing, you will love those. Take good care Bee

  5. Opsimath – awesome word. A ten-dollar one for sure! I’d like to know the answer to the life-long learner question as well.
    Dorian Gray is fabulous. Now I want to re-read! So you’re glad you read it – but did you like it or no?

  6. I’m seeing, and not surprised, by the response to your most excellent word. ‘Opsimath’… (in the sense, if valid) as the appreciation of discovering new facts and skills and perspectives is a trait very much in common with a lot of us, here in the ‘sphere. (That being said, I am so Opsimathic! lol*)

    Hey! thanks for the linkation on ‘Almira’ the path (of our story) is beginning to not only twist and turn, but to branch and re-join. Can’t wait to find out what happens next!**

    *does it count when the learning is of a nature represented by, ‘ you know, clark, someday you’re going to have to grow up and learn to act like an adult!‘ ?
    ** lol yeah, I say that so casually now! check in around Thursday when I realize I have only a couple of days to discover what Chapter 6 is to be about!

Leave a Reply

