Blogging, TToT

TToT: Red Means Stop and Green Means Go – Daffodil Hill, #10Thankful

Guess what?

Back and Better Than Ever

I sit here, feeling the vibration of the music underfoot. The music comes up through the floor at my feet and the art is flowing all around me.

As for me, I have my tool back, the one which I need now, if I even hope to write, the thing closest to breathing. Music is that for those in my basement.

Times Like These

Music. Writing. Creativity. Art. It’s all necessary, to keep this world bright and hopeful. Or to keep me bright and hopeful at least.

I had been feeling the pressure to write, but lately I have been held back by old and dying technology. I managed to keep up with my favourite weekly posts – somehow.

😉

Until last week of course. But last week I finally through my hands up in the air in frustration, when I couldn’t deal with a computer that resisted my attempts. I hated to miss this place, but I just couldn’t do it anymore.

Help arrived just in time.

TEN THINGS OF THANKFUL

For all the things I spoke of at the start of this post.

I am thankful I can offer a practice space to my brother and his fellow musicians.

This house is more than capable of providing a place for the kind of sounds of their guitars, drums, and vocals.

For the chance to observe the art they create. They do it all. They write their songs and perform them. They make something, where once there was nothing. That is producing something of beauty, putting something of beauty back into the world, when so much is taken away every day.

For my generous parents.

They see when I am struggling. They gave me back my creativity, when something came along and took it away for a while there.

For my brother’s help.

He knows his stuff and helped me find what I needed.

And for helpful computer guys on the phone.

For a sweet sweet computer.

Apple is not the product for everybody, as it once wasn’t for me, but they make magic and technology becomes my friend and ally once more.

For the slickest of slick Bluetooth keyboards.

This thing is so light and it allows me to write.

🙂

For helpful second brother to help me get new technology set up and working.

I needed to get my blogging/journal program to work and that involves a lot of the know-how of which I do not possess.

My brother rescues me from extra headaches. Invaluable.

For learning my second song on the violin.

My brother showed me the first few notes, fairly similar to “Twinkle Twinkle”, which I first learned.

Then I went to my lesson and learned the rest of a second song, a surprise for someone I love coming up soon.

For helpful cab drivers.

I took one to my lesson. He was helpful and gave me his number, eager to take me back when I was done.

It sounded a bit odd at first, but I know there are kind people. I hate to not take them up on that kindness. Perhaps he just desperately needed my business, but I appreciated it.

He described the streets (for my own knowledge, he said) and told me to call for a ride, anytime.

For creativity and a new project in the works.

I had an idea to try doing a Podcast. It will be based around the sibling relationship with my brother.

I had the idea and he went to school to know how to record.

He knew how to set up microphones and record us. It reminded me of all the times he taped us as kids. Of course, pictures meant nothing to him. He never could see them. I wouldn’t see them for long. Recording our voices, our experiences, this was how we passed our time growing up and how we captured memories, now all kept on cassette tapes he still has today.

I want to create something new and maybe it will become something.

Perhaps nobody but me will want to hear the sort of discussions my brother and I have, but maybe, just maybe we can say something, share something, speak to something.

Fast Car – Tracy Chapman

This song was performed live, at an open mic night I went out to Friday evening. It was a beautiful version, but this one is the one I’ve always loved, the one that makes me tear up when I hear it, and of which I love to return to.

“So remember when we were driving, driving in your car. Speed so fast I felt like I was drunk. City lights laid out before us, and your arm felt nice wrapped round my shoulder. And I had a feeling that I belonged.. I had a feeling I could be someone…be someone…be someone.”

Standard

15 thoughts on “TToT: Red Means Stop and Green Means Go – Daffodil Hill, #10Thankful

  1. Tracy Chapman is amazing! I’ve never been a music geek, but when I was in high school (yes I AM that old) a friend of mine introduced me to her music with that song – it was right around the time it was released – and yes I’m THAT old.

    I am so glad you’ve got your technology woes sorted. Having to wear glasses (I know, it’s really not that big of a deal) to see while trying to figure out things that aren’t working drives me mad and that’s just a tiny sip of the obstacles you deal with.

  2. (Hey Vanessa!! I see you your ‘THAT’ old and raise you a ‘no way! no one is that old‘ lol)

    very good to hear that your technology has returned, the ease in connection restored (‘ease’ enables, does not create, you would (and tell us of the struggle to keep the connection to the virtual world, where so many of us exist).
    the podcast idea sounds very intriguing. will be watching (listening) for it

  3. valj2750 says:

    Those technology issues can really upset a sensitive and artistic person like you, and an impatient person like me. I’m glad things have improved and you are surrounding yourself with the good vibes of music and the world around you. I just finished reading All The Light We Cannot See – astounding story, and I, of course, thought of you.

  4. Bee Halton says:

    This is the second post today that features Tracy Chapmans “Fast Car” I will sing it all night long now ;-). Am so glad you have the technology you need back to write. Have a great week!

  5. Have to say, technological breakdowns are one of the (relatively few) things which can send me from 0-raging in a very short space of time. I absolutely LOSE IT, and I’m so glad you got new tech, and that it works so well.

    Hooray for all the wonderful projects you have planned with your brother. I’m in two minds about how I’d feel to be around music being created. I love music, but I wonder whether the process of it ‘getting there’ would drive me a bit nuts…

    • It depends on the type of music. The stuff these guys play is really actually very melodical. Sometimes though, it’s best for me to escape. It all depends on my mood.

Leave a Reply

