Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, History, Memoir and Reflections, Special Occasions, Throw-back Thursday

The Ties That Bind

#TBT to two years ago.
Today this is dedicated to my sister, on her birthday, and to family. I hope her and I are as close fifty years from now.

Her Headache

When I was a child my grandmother and her younger sister sounded so much alike that I was often confused when they were both nearby. I just couldn’t believe or accept that they weren’t really twins. Their voices sounded so similar and I was sure of it. As I grew I was able to distinguish the subtle nuances that made them separate women, yet still extremely close.

It’s been almost ten years since my grandma died. I used to spend a lot of time with her and other family from her generation. Recently I had the urge to once again spend some time with those who tie me to her and who knew her best. I haven’t seen my two great aunts and my great uncle since my grandfather passed away, since the funeral that cold February day four years ago. There was just no situation in which we had…

View original post 800 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

