1000 Voices Speak For Compassion, Feminism, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Happy Hump Day, Kerry's Causes, The Redefining Disability Awareness Challenge

Sight Loss & Solace Through A Little Image

Worth sharing on this Wednesday. Definitely brightened up my day.

Bold Blind Beauty

An Icon With A Mission

Image of Abigail in a crosswalk with text: Walking in confidence regardless of the status of our lives--this is beautiful! #AbbyOnTheMove Walking in confidence regardless of the status of our lives–this is beautiful!

After living with corrected vision for most of my life, if I thought adjusting to sight loss was tough, then several years ago meeting the world on its terms with my new disability was excruciating. Encountering prejudice, inequality, and inaccurate presumptions, though not new, were now based on my disability.

“As she steps forth to face the crowds
Some will stare, some will pass.
Captures attention as she goes
What do they really know?”

You’ve probably heard the phrase “you don’t know what you don’t know,” for example I didn’t know I couldn’t see until I put on my first pair of eyeglasses. Prior to wearing eyeglasses I functioned quite well because I wasn’t aware of what I couldn’t see, so as far as I was concerned there were no limitations to what…

View original post 449 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

