Blogging, Book Reviews, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Memoir and Reflections, Throw-back Thursday

The Art is in the Distance: On Arnold Lobel and Making Work in the Closet

Iconic stories from my childhood. My brother and a friend even made a book of there own, a favourite of theirs.

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

Arnold LobelArnold Lobel

A guest post from Jennifer Berney:

This week, nearly thirty years after his death, Arnold Lobel (author of the Frog and Toad books) was outed to the world in a New Yorker piece by Colin Stokes titled “Frog and Toad”: An Amphibious Celebration of Same Sex Love. I read the piece with interest because as a parent and a writer, I’ve been an abiding fan of Lobel’s work. In the countless hours I’ve spent propped against pillows, reading Frog and Toad books aloud to my sons, I find myself always half-immersed in story, and half-immersed in my own wonder at how flawless those stories are. As a writer who works primarily in the genre of memoir, I cannot read fiction without wondering where the author’s life intersects with his art. I am nosy that way.

Most Frog and Toad stories are composed of brief, everyday moments that, when…

View original post 955 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

