1000 Voices Speak For Compassion, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Kerry's Causes, Piece of Cake, The Insightful Wanderer, The Redefining Disability Awareness Challenge, Travel

My Passenger Assistance Experience

This is a real concern, a fear which stops many visually impaired people from venturing out into the world. That needs to change.

Life of a Blind Girl

Hello,

I hope you are all well.

This is probably a rather long rant but I wanted to tell you about a recent experience that I had as I think it needs to be discussed. I’m hoping that it portrays the fact that not everything goes to plan, even when provisions are put in place and that there are flaws in the services for disabled people.

Earlier this week, I attended Sight Village. For those of you that don’t know what Sight Village is, it is an exhibition for blind and visually impaired people to attend where they can see the latest assistive technology and services among other things. I’ve done a lot of traveling with friends and family on buses, trains, planes and in the car and been on a plane by myself but something that I had never done was go on a train on my own using…

View original post 1,360 more words

Standard

One thought on “My Passenger Assistance Experience

Leave a Reply

