Blogging, Bucket List, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, History, IN THE NEWS AND ON MY MIND, Kerry's Causes, Special Occasions, The Insightful Wanderer

I Don’t Like Hockey, #AtoZChallenge

I am proud to be Canadian, but I do not like hockey.

Gc7K7g2.jpg

They’ll be showing me the door any day now, for that confession, but I just had to get that off my chest.

The A to Z Challenge – C is for Canada

This is a preview of any Canada Day post I may still write for July 1st, but it is a bit of a tricky subject, this year especially.

I am staying random, as this is my first A to Z year, but writing about the things I love is a good way for anyone who is new to this blog, for them to get to know me better.

Canada is celebrating our 150th birthday, but not everyone is so thrilled about that.

There were people living on this land before 1867 and they don’t like feeling like before that year of
Confederation
they didn’t exist. I don’t blame them.

My ancestors came here a long time ago, but it simply can’t compare.

I am glad my ancestors came here. I like living here. I need to see more of it.

Canada made the list for happiest countries in the world. We cracked the top 10 and I would have to agree.

World Happiness Report

Lots of people complain, and their lived experiences are probably a lot different than mine. I am one of the lucky ones.

Standard

12 thoughts on “I Don’t Like Hockey, #AtoZChallenge

  1. Nice post. I too am Canadian and thought your comments about some people not being happy with the way the 150th is being celebrated right on target. Nevertheless, it’s a joy to live here, as you say. Enjoyed your post.

  2. Geraint Isitt says:

    I grew up in Canada after the family moved from the U.K. It’s a wonderful place and rightly should make the Top 10. And you don’t really have to like hockey. I hate poutine so that’s pretty bad too.

  3. I’ll see your hockey dislike and add on maple syrup. I just don’t get it. I dutifully buy It for my husband who puts in on everything. Me – meh.

    Other than that and working out our relationship and addressing our history with aboriginal peoples? Yay Canada!

    • I don’t like hockey, poutine, or maple syrup. Wow, I am barely Canadian. I do care about all people of this country though. Glad we are making things better, most of us, and I hope it continues. Thanks Louise.

      • I’m good with poutine 🙂 And many other Canadian “things” – I love Old Quebec City, Maple Trees and their leaves, many of our comedians, Alanis Morissette and Avril Lavigne… I’m sure there’s other stuff…. 😉

Leave a Reply

