Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Kerry's Causes, Memoir and Reflections, Piece of Cake

The Truth Hurts #Infertility #AtoZChallenge

Keeping this short because I have a nasty headache.

rQx0cXO.jpg

Not like this is going to be the most chipper of posts anyway, but it’s truth and reality and sometimes reality hurts.

The A to Z Challenge – I is for Infertility

Did you ever want something so bad, but you couldn’t have it? Or, you knew it wasn’t really possible? It may never be meant to be?

I know it’s still not one of those parts of life I’ve totally accepted, as I feel a sharp jab when I read about women announcing a pregnancy or a milestone with their child. If it is someone I know or love, I am still happy for them. I would never want them to leave me out of such a piece of info, but it still hurts me that I may never have it.

This is when people like to cheer me up by informing me that I don’t know what the future holds and that it could still happen for me. I truly appreciate the attempt, but I need to face facts as they currently stand. I can’t stand to live in a dream world.

It’s a combination of medical and physical factors, which lead me to believe I would have trouble becoming pregnant, though I have never really tried to become pregnant.

Circumstances haven’t been optimal for that. I don’t know if they ever will. I have also seen those I love struggle with it. With today’s medical options, there are more ways to make it happen, to bypass the roadblocks of infertility.

So, I claim I have it before even really knowing for certain. Yes, I wish my life were less complicated. I wish I could make my way to full acceptance in all of this. Maybe one of these days.

***This is my first year of joining the A to Z Challenge and so I’ve decided to post randomly, as a way for new visitors to my blog to get to know me a little better. I look forward to discovering some interesting new blogs too.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Truth Hurts #Infertility #AtoZChallenge

  1. My daughter is now 42, and for reasons both physical and life-related she has not had a child and likely never will. It is a very painful reality for her, and for me as her mother. There are many ways to love and nuture children, but this doesn’t take away the longing to have one of your own. My heart and prayers are with you.

    • Thank you Josie. I keep thinking I should have accepted this more by now, but it still hurts. Loving my nieces and nephews helps take away some of the pain, but it’s not the same thing.

Leave a Reply

