Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Kerry's Causes, Memoir and Reflections

Light Up My Life #AtoZChallenge

They aren’t mine, but I will always be there, theirs.

L5SZ4GO.jpg

I am one proud Auntie Kerry – and there’s one more K for the day.

The A to Z Challenge – K is for Kids

When she takes my hand in her small one and shows me downstairs.

When he makes me promise to see that a misplaced toy be returned to its proper place and won’t leave until I promise.

When he lets me in on the secret of playing with his sister’s Legos, when he knows she wouldn’t like it.

When she sneezes her baby sneeze, coos happily, and when she nestles against my chest to sleep.

When she sat between us to have her snack of popcorn on New Year’s Eve.

Even when I am the honorary aunt, or related by blood, I am blessed to have these kids in my life.

***This is my first year of joining the A to Z Challenge and so I’ve decided to post randomly, as a way for new visitors to my blog to get to know me a little better. I look forward to discovering some interesting new blogs too.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Light Up My Life #AtoZChallenge

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I love my niece as if she was my own, and I cherish my relationship with her. I have some really awesome nephews too, not a bad apple in the bunch! 🙂

    • I am in love with my own nieces and nephews, same as with my best friend’s little girl. I am nobody’s God Mother, but I don’t need to be related for the love to be there. Children are magic.

  2. Three cheers and a K for Aunt Kerry – they sound very fortunate to have you in their life as well. Kids bring so much to the mix. And agreed with Kristi – nothing quite like having a little one sleep on your chest.

  3. Pingback: From Apple to Zip Lining: My First and Perhaps Only A to Z | Her Headache

Leave a Reply

