Blogging, Bucket List, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Memoir and Reflections, Spotlight Saturday, The Insightful Wanderer, Travel, TravelWriting, Writing

When We Grew Up #AtoZChallenge

We all wanted to be a lot of things when we grew up. We’ve all dreamt of being many things. I know I did.

XkmEB75.jpg

Librarian. Artist. Doctor/ Nurse. Psychologist. Novelist/writer. Bookstore owner. Travel blogger. Author/speaker.

The A to Z Challenge – M is for Marine biology

I now dream of a career in writing, but once I dreamt of studying to become a marine biologist. I loved/love the ocean and all creatures within, so so much, that I wish I could have done better in science and somehow become someone who could study marine ecosystems and make a difference to the oceans and everything living in them.

I didn’t do too well in science and I am afraid of boats. Always have been. I believe I carry a healthy, respectful fear of the sea. Its immensity makes me feel as small as anything else ever could. Yet, I am utterly fascinated by it and everything existing in it.

I want to study jellyfish.

I want to study dolphins, whales, sharks, sea turtles, rays, from the smallest organism to the blue whale. I love it all.

We sometimes must admit that we won’t ever be what we once dreamed of, but I keep the faith I might one day get to write about the ocean, even if I will never study it scientifically.

***This is my first year of joining the A to Z Challenge and so I’ve decided to post randomly, as a way for new visitors to my blog to get to know me a little better. I look forward to discovering some interesting new blogs too.

Standard

9 thoughts on “When We Grew Up #AtoZChallenge

  1. I wanted to be a marine biologist when I was in high school too! Mostly because I liked swimming and scuba diving. I then realized how much science and how little swimming would be involved and moved on to other things. Thanks for this little moment of reflection that your moment gave me!

    • Nope. My lack of ability as a strong swimmer and my never even having gone scuba diving were the red flags for me. And so I moved on from that dream, but I still revisit it in my mind often.

  2. It was interesting to read about your initial career plans. I love the sea, but I enjoy it from the shore. The sheer immensity is overpowering in a beautiful kind of way. Perhaps you will one day write us stories that involve the sea, or maybe you will compose a piece for your violin that brings the ocean to mind!

    • I prefer it from the shore too Josie, with my feet firmly planted on solid ground.

      I thought about writing about the topic a million times, but I hadn’t given any thought to expressing my love for it through music. Maybe I will get there with my violin playing one day. Thanks for the idea though. I will keep it in mind.

  3. valj2750 says:

    I love the sea and the creatures that inhabit it. An aquarium is the closest place I’ve been to study the animals in their habitats. I’m not really a scientist, either, just a curious person who wants to learn a lot.

  4. Pingback: From Apple to Zip Lining: My First and Perhaps Only A to Z | Her Headache

Leave a Reply

