Blogging, Bucket List, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Happy Hump Day

It’s the Only Way #AtoZChallenge

Okay, let’s do this thing.

aQHK3cP.jpg

I wouldn’t want to fall behind.

The A to Z Challenge – P is for Practice

Does practice really make perfect?

Of course, I doubt this common phrase in those moments when I don’t want to practice, but every time I skip it, I risk the shaky progress I have made with my violin playing.

I’ve been doing it for just over a year now and it’s hard to judge what that progress looks like or should look like.

All I know is that practice does work. I am just no good at a daily, repetitive routine. Anything I have to do every day quickly becomes the last thing I want to do.

We are creatures of habit (I couldn’t come up with more of these if I tried) but it’s true. If I just push myself to take out my instrument, I soon know what the smart part of my head knew from the beginning.

I won’t be having lessons for two or three weeks now and practice is my best bet. The repeat action, practicing a part, a song over and over again, this is the only way I’m going to improve.

***This is my first year of joining the A to Z Challenge and so I’ve decided to post randomly, as a way for new visitors to my blog to get to know me a little better. I look forward to discovering some interesting new blogs too.

Standard

One thought on “It’s the Only Way #AtoZChallenge

  1. I agree that practice is tedious. I will practice to learn something new, and then when I’ve accomplished it I tend to set it aside, and before very long I’ve forgotten how again. My mind tends to be always wanting to move ahead to something new. When it comes to mastering a musical instrument, I think that practice and more practice is the only way to become good, just as it is with so many acquired skills. You should record your efforts at the beginning, a bit later, and then when you have it mastered and see how much change there truly is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

