1000 Voices Speak For Compassion, Blogging, FTSF, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, IN THE NEWS AND ON MY MIND, Memoir Monday, Special Occasions, The Insightful Wanderer

The Only Sure Things #FTSF #AtoZChallenge

“grief is the price you pay for love you see.”
—Miss Josephine Barry, “Anne The Series”

Jr5FQeF.jpg

Truer words have never been spoken.

The A to Z Challenge – T is for Taxes

How we pay for everything else.

In this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes and nothing free either.

After love, all we are left with is grief, but that love is always there.

Then there are those dreaded taxes. I consider myself lucky that my sister works at a tax office. She is learning the ropes. It’s nice to have that in the family because I am absolute rubbish with numbers.

So this time is a tense one, for many people and reasons, full of stress. April is tax time and time for bloggers to decide on whether or not to tackle doing the dreaded A to Z thing. It’s a lot of work and I haven’t even arrived at the hardest letters of the alphabet yet. Oh boy.

I’m tempted to keep this post light, but talk of grief is on my mind, as it is impossible to escape forever. Love and loss are wrapped up in one another. It’s inevitable. I may keep my distance, afraid of loss and getting hurt, but love is still the best thing I know. I can’t close myself off from it, simply because one day it will end in heartbreak.

I’m facing down thoughts of death all the while, I’m leaving the tax part in my sister’s more capable hands.

***This is my late contribution to
Finish the Sentence Friday
(three days late) because the prompts just happened to fit.

Finding Ninee’s perspective is an interesting one: nothing to lose and everything to lose, all at the same time. Check it out.

***This is my first year of joining the A to Z Challenge and so I’ve decided to post randomly, as a way for new visitors to my blog to get to know me a little better. I look forward to discovering some interesting new blogs too.

Standard

4 thoughts on “The Only Sure Things #FTSF #AtoZChallenge

  1. valj2750 says:

    Every time I hear the word taxes I get an unpleasant, anxious feeling in my gut. We, too, have a tax accountant who takes care of the business of taxes for us, we just have to come up with the money. Taxes are on everyone’s mind this month in the US – the dreaded 4.18 deadline.

  2. I had a number of anxieties last week – and both taxes and getting through my A to Z posts were on that list. I smiled to see them thought of so closely together here. A to Z like the blog tax? Right of passage? There’s a thought percolating somewhere in me on that :).

    May you make it through successfully to the end of the month.

  3. Finding Ninee says:

    Please never close yourself off from love. I know you’ll make it. I’ve been blogging (sortof) for four years now, and I’ve never done the A to Z challenge. I used to write almost every day but this is harder, and you’re doing an amazing job! Yuck to taxes!

  4. Pingback: From Apple to Zip Lining: My First and Perhaps Only A to Z | Her Headache

Leave a Reply

