Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Piece of Cake

Output Matters #AtoZChallenge

We all do it.

IEDScOh.jpg

Sitting down. Standing. Squatting. I’ve even tried it in a bedpan, through a catheter, but I wouldn’t recommend those if they can be avoided.

The A to Z Challenge – U is for Urination

Most people don’t think twice about it, once they kick the habit of peeing in the bed as children that is.

How often and how much urinating do you do in a day?

I am asked that, at least twice a year, at my regular doctor visits, to check that my kidney is still producing enough urine. Lack of it could mean my transplant isn’t working as well.

I hope people know this already, but the kidneys produce urine. Urination is thanks to your kidneys and you should thank them for that.

When they’re not working, urination usually ceases. With the kind of juvenile renal disease I had, I did not stop. In fact, I just went more. This is not usually the case.

Most times, I can go a while without giving it much thought, as I have always had a strong bladder, but now and again I catch myself and I ask myself the question the doctors usually ask.

Have I slowed down? Has anything changed? Could the fact that I only went once today mean my father’s kidney is starting to fail?

All golden shower jokes aside, urination is important, and that’s why I chose it for this letter.

***This is my first year of joining the A to Z Challenge and so I’ve decided to post randomly, as a way for new visitors to my blog to get to know me a little better. I look forward to discovering some interesting new blogs too.

Standard

One thought on “Output Matters #AtoZChallenge

  1. Pingback: From Apple to Zip Lining: My First and Perhaps Only A to Z | Her Headache

Leave a Reply

