Kerry's Causes, Piece of Cake, SoCS, Spotlight Saturday

Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head, #ChronicPainAwareness #SoCS

Do what is best for you, what works to help with the pain, I tell myself. You have that right.

Do something, everyday, that makes you happy, I tell myself, to distract from the pain.

S1URkLU.jpg

I do this, so I can find relief and discover, at least, some quality of life.

Stream of Consciousness Saturday, #SoCS

Do something that will challenge you, I prod myself.

I pitch. I am accepted. I panic that I can’t do this and they couldn’t possibly know what they are getting when they have agreed to share my words with their readers.

Then I feel silly and stupid for my lack of confidence…because, though I have a lot to learn, I know I can write.

Those due dates from back in my school days are now out of a binder and my braille list of assignments I had in the eighth grade and into the organization I don’t quite have figured out yet for my freelance/writing work.

All over Facebook are people, those I went to school with and are now becoming mothers’ and posting their happy news.

The baby is due on this date or that.

I will likely never have this moment of joy, many moments of anticipation, with a baby growing inside of me.

So, I focus on the life I am living, the pain I do live with included, and the joy that my writing gives.

My due dates are for Catapult or SiriusXM or Hippocampus or Panorama. I am lucky.

The grass on an early morning: a robin hops across the ground and my feet are wet from the dew.

Standard

14 thoughts on “Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head, #ChronicPainAwareness #SoCS

  1. “I focus on the life I am living…” Sounds like a pretty good plan to me. Also, no questioning your ability to write. Nice job with the prompt – bonus points ✔️☑️ And my thanks for stopping by and supporting my day of trying to be Linda.

  2. Jami Carder says:

    You absolutely can write. Self doubt is normal…don’t listen to it for too long.

    I hear you on the chronic pain thing. I have Ehlers Danlos Syndrome and am becoming apprehensive as my body deteriorates.

    • At times I think my brother and I have that, but have never been diagnosed by a doctor.

      Thanks for your kind words and encouragement on the writing. You are right not to pay too close attention to any of the self doubt.

  3. Here from your comment on my Song Lyric Sunday post. I’m enjoying getting to know you. You went to Hippocampus? In Lancaster? I think I might next year. How was it?

    Happy Sunday.

    • Thanks for stopping by.

      No. I didn’t go to that, but I might too, one day.

      I just mentioned them because I worked with them and hope to have a short piece going up on their publication next month.

Leave a Reply

