1000 Voices Speak For Compassion, Feminism, Fiction Friday, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, This Day In Literature

Why I Have to Look away from The Handmaid’s Tale Sometimes, and Why That’s a Good Thing

Part-Time Monster

Last week, as I was watching “A Woman’s Place,” the sixth episode of Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, I was struck with a realization: I had not watched a single episode of the show without flipping through the social media feeds on my phone or my laptop simultaneously. So I started to think about why…Why might I might be avoiding focusing myself entirely on this show, a show that I gave high praise to and found fascinating for so very many reasons?

The answer was deceptively simple: I was, in fact, avoiding focusing myself entire on this show in order to avoid the trauma of doing so. As a woman, the show terrified me. So I did what I do when I need a distraction…I pulled up a social media feed that I could passively scroll through or easily put aside while I was watching, redirecting…

View original post 1,135 more words

Standard

One thought on “Why I Have to Look away from The Handmaid’s Tale Sometimes, and Why That’s a Good Thing

  1. Wow. Until you said so here, I didn’t realize what I’d been doing with HMTale. Each episode I watch, I play solitaire on my phone. I thought maybe that it was because the show wasn’t as good as the book (also I recently listened to the audio book which was narrated by Claire Danes and kept picturing/hearing her as the lead but it’s this other woman who is doing a great job and all…)
    Anyway, I wonder whether I’m doing the same. It’s too much, really.

Leave a Reply

