Blogging, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, Memoir and Reflections, Piece of Cake, SoCS

Sack Sick Suck, #SoCS

Linda is the chooser of the SoCS prompts every week and I am glad for that. I wouldn’t want to be responsible for this, but she does a fantastic job.

I have to admit, though, this week’s prompt was tricky for me, but I wanted not to miss it because this is the last one for 2015 and so I am taking a crack at it.

SoCS

I do love her contribution, as a thankful and a stream of consciousness thankful at that:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/26/socs-socks-socs/

I can totally relate to what she says, as I love my WordPress blog and those I choose to interact with here, but I did not know if anyone would want or care to read anything I had to say about socks.

I went with a strange title, all the four-letter words that are like “sock”, but that aren’t. I don’t like putting the actual prompt word or part of a word directly in the title of my post. Also, it just sounded nice, all those “S” words in a row, hissing like a snake, like the snake my brother has as a pet, which I would rather not touch, but I am getting off track here.

I hate wearing socks, but I also don’t like being barefoot. That is why I am glad I got a new pair of dog slippers, while out shopping with a friend a few weeks back. Slippers are like socks, but more comfortable. This pair is so soft inside and neat feeling out.

My feet/legs aren’t really meant for socks. I even go out without them, my feet right in my shoes or boots. I know, I know. This will get me sick, right?

My great grandmother believed in the old wives tale of if you don’t wear socks you will get kidney failure. Well, I got kidney failure, so I guess I should have listened to her.

I always lose socks when I do my laundry. I am sure I am not alone in that, a common one, so I should use those things that keep two socks together.

What are they called again? Can’t think now and no time for Google.

This would also eliminate the problem I have of being able to match socks. If they feel the same I normally have no problem, but it’s more my favourite fuzzy socks )not quite sock and not quite slipper) that I don’t know how to match, for all the coloured pairs I own.

I always hated stockings, a form of socks made especially as a torture for women and girls, in my humble opinion. They feel all cool when on, when in a dress, but me as a little girl hated how itchy I would eventually feel in them. I could wear knee socks or none at all. I wore more dresses as a little girl, but less so now. All so unfortunate, isn’t it?

🙂

I did think of the phrase, “knock your socks off” and I do enjoy that one quite a lot. Something has to be pretty amazing for me to break out that one.

I guess several things could have that effect: music, movies, books, chocolate, views, trips, people.

It’s one of those four-letter words, “sock”, that I run over and over in my mind, playing little word games with myself when I can’t sleep at night. Yeah, how exciting it must be to be inside my head, huh?

😉

When I first started seeing SoCS posts in my email, after I must have signed up to follow Linda’s blog, I did not yet understand what this whole Stream of Consciousness Saturday thing was. My laptop and phone’s voice that reads to me would sometimes say it in just such a way that SoCS sounded like socks, if you spell it out the way it sounds. See what I mean?

I know better now and glad I decided to investigate further. I kept hearing about this “socks/SoCS” thing and eventually I figured out what the initials meant for real. I am so glad I did.

Linking back and hope for a lot more Stream of Consciousness Saturday fun in 2016:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/25/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-dec-2615/

What a weird one to go out on for the year. I like that this particular prompt encourages the weirder the better.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Sack Sick Suck, #SoCS

  1. A fellow non-sock wearer! =)

    I have a friend who insists that the socks lost in the laundry turn into pigeons. Her logic? You never see the socks again, and you never see baby pigeons!

    I wonder if they’ll eventually develop a reader app that can interpret these kinds of anagrams. That might make a little more sense out of your world, but also take away a little of your wonder….

    You would maybe have knocked my socks off today, if I were wearing socks, that is!

Leave a Reply

