1000 Voices Speak For Compassion, Bucket List, Feminism, Guest Blogs and Featured Spotlights, IN THE NEWS AND ON MY MIND, Interviews, Kerry's Causes, Shows and Events, Special Occasions, The Insightful Wanderer, The Redefining Disability Awareness Challenge, Travel, TToT

TToT: March Breaks and Time Straddlers – Design and Procurement #10Thankful

I can’t get the image of all that plastic in that whale’s stomach out of my head. Or the gorilla who was shot and blinded. Or fifty human lives lost in New Zealand last week.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yks0RggaluY

But then, I am reminded, we live in a world with rainbows.

SxxjN4m.jpg

“Watch the rain drop.”

I’m thankful for new Cranberries music. She’s dead, and that’s still unbelievably sad, but this song just released is powerful, even more because of how things are.

I am thankful for a good
classic Irish memoir
to read on St. Patrick’s Day weekend. (All twelve braille volumes of it.)

I’m thankful that another news network put a spotlight on the disability issues radio talk show I do with my brother.

Radio Show About Blindness Promotes Accessibility – CTV London

I’m thankful an interesting documentarian/filmmaker was generous enough to give me a few hours of his time, to ask me several thoughtful questions, to get to know my story a little better. I’m discovering, life’s all in the connections that you make.

I’m thankful for an upcoming Niagara Falls weekend trip with my family to celebrate the start of spring.

I’m thankful for my recent weekend away in New York City with my friend and travel agent extraordinaire, just in time for International Women’s Day festivities.

I’m thankful for rooftops, bars/restaurants/nothing but the roof.

hHvl0iH.jpg

I stand on one, on a cold International Women’s Day in New York City, with my friend Anita.

I’m thankful for fear that I keep facing.

I’m thankful for the opportunity to share my fears and not feel so alone. On the stage, the presenter (my “writing mentor” was the presenter) spoke about fear in her talk and then called me up, along with two other ladies, to share what we’re afraid of.

I’m thankful for lovely songs and their singers.

Though I don’t mind winter like some do, I am thankful for this first day of spring.

“Everything is new in the spring,” said Anne. “Springs themselves are always so new, too. No spring is ever just like any other spring. It always has something of its own to be its own peculiar sweetness. See how green the grass is around that little pond, and how the willow buds are bursting.”-
L.M Montgomery, Anne of the Island

Standard

12 thoughts on “TToT: March Breaks and Time Straddlers – Design and Procurement #10Thankful

  1. Kristi says:

    Yes, there are terrible things in the world, but there are also rainbows.
    Have fun at Niagara Falls! (Where there are beautiful rainbows, too.)

  2. I keep in touch with current world events like a twice-removed relationship. It doesn’t hurt to hear about how he/she has been doing, but too much attention serves only to draw me into something that is always, with my cooperation, is willing to take my energy.
    Pretty much limit my energy to that which I can touch and feel, more or less directly.

    Holy smoke! you (and your brother) are doing most excellent things with your brother and the radio show. Very cool.

    And your traveling and being on panels and such… kinda in awe of the courage* that takes.

    *courage is surely one of the most mis-represented concepts/qualities. I would venture to say real courage is to have the will to act despite the fear. This is not to deny the fear but, like working in the rain, choose to focus your real attention to the matter at hand and not the water pouring out of the sky.

    • Twice removed. Haha

      I am going to go with your rain falling as water from the sky idea. I can use that one when walking for days in England in November later this year. Thanks Clark.

  3. violaetcetera says:

    Not having to face fearful things alone is a wonderful thing.
    As there is a rainbow from time to time, we can get through many hard times.
    Have a wonderful week!

  4. Pat Brockett says:

    Rainbows are wonderful reminders.
    Life is all about making connections, and you are doing a beautiful job of doing that.
    I love that L. M. Montgomery quotation.

    • Reminders and connections. Yes, her quotes are always my favourite when I come across one of them. She was so good at that, at finding rainbows through her characters, if not through herself in the light of day.

  5. dyannedillon says:

    How cool to be in NYC on International Women’s Day! Where I live, probably only a handful of people knew it even existed! Thank goodness we live in a world with rainbows. How would we bear it otherwise?

Leave a comment